Samuel to get another term as ACCC Chairman

Posted by Daniel Palmer on 27th June 2008

Graeme Samuel, Chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, appears set to be reappointed for another term.

Cabinet has reportedly given the green light for Mr Samuel to continue in his current position with the approval of state governments currently being sought after.

The process of appointing a Chairman for the competition watchdog begins with a Federal Government nomination which is then forwarded to the state governments to approve or reject the candidate.

Mr Samuel, who was appointed to the post back in 2003 by then Federal Treasurer Peter Costello despite some opposition from NSW and Queensland, has refused to comment about his future. However, it does appear that he will stay on, albeit possibly for a reduced term of three years instead of the customary five.

The Australian has reported that the announcement was to have been made a few weeks ago, but was postponed following the controversy about ‘FuelWatch’, which was initially opposed by Mr Samuel before his eventual endorsement.

Joining Mr Samuel at the ACCC in the position of Deputy Chairman is expected to be Peter Kell, who has previously worked at ASIC and is currently Chief Executive of the Australian Consumers Association (Choice). Mr Kell will take the place of Louise Sylvan who, like Mr Kell, was appointed after serving as Chief Executive of the Australian Consumers Association.

Treasurer Wayne Swan is set to make an official announcement before Mr Samuel’s current term expires at the end of next month.