Australian Food Award winners announced

Posted by Andrea Hogan on 13th September 2017

Adna Aliskovic and Stewart Strutt-Shotton from Enigma Fine Chocolates, Champion Australian Small Producer/Manufacturer winners

The 2017 Australian Food Award trophy winners have been announced.

Run annually by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), the Australian Food Awards recognise the best Australian food producers annually.

The awards most prestigious prize, Champion Australian Product/Produce, went to Tasmanian producer, Australian Honey Products, for its Sheffield Honey Farm Leatherwood. The honey also won the Champion Pantry Goods trophy.

A second major winner from the awards was Dooley’s Ice Cream which won the Champion Dairy Trophy for its passionfruit ice cream, along with being named Champion Medium Producer.

RASV Chief Executive Officer, Mark O’Sullivan, said the 2017 winners were no exception to the home-grown excellence seen in previous years.

“It is extremely important for Australians to not only know and see where their food comes from, but to also be proud and celebrate the remarkable achievements of our Australian growers and producers, who create phenomenal produce day in and day out,” O’Sullivan said.

Australian Food Awards 2017 Champion Trophy Winners

The full list of champion trophy winners are as follows:

Champion Australian Product/Produce – Sheffield Honey Farm Leatherwood

Champion Australian Small Producer/Manufacturer – Enigma Fine Chocolates

Champion Australian Medium Producer/Manufacturer – Dooley’s Ice Cream

Champion Australian Large Producer/Manufacturer – Bertocchi Smallgoods

Champion Australian Organic Product/Produce – Zeally Bay Sourdough and Bundarra Berkshires

Champion Australian Dairy – Dooley’s Ice Cream

Champion Australian Fresh Produce – Wildes Lane

Champion Australian Convenience Food  – Louise, Brunch

Champion Australian Grains and Pulses – Zeally bay Sourdough

Champion Australian Meat – Stockyard

Champion Australian Pantry Goods – Sheffield Honey Farm Leatherwood

Champion Australian Poultry – The Old Farm Happy Valley

Champion Australian Seafood – Eucumbene Trout Farm


Related articles