Winners of the Foodservice Industry Awards of Excellence 08 announced

Posted by Daniel Palmer on 28th October 2008

The Foodservice Industry Association Vic/Tas (FIA) held their third annual awards ceremony last week, with a gala dinner at the RACV Club in Melbourne to recognise excellence in the foodservice industry.

The honour of Foodservice Distributor of the Year went to Superior Food Services for the third straight year. The distributor, founded in 1992, delivers to the surrounding areas of Melbourne, Albury and Wagga. Nature’s Cargo took out the regional division of the same award, with PFD Food Services – Mario’s, Hobart receiving recognition in the Tasmanian division.

Markwell Foods left with the prestigious Best New Foodservice Product of the Year (Food) award for their innovative Prawn Twister – a product with peeled whole prawns infused with coriander, garlic and green onion in a crispy wonton style pastry. Commercial Food Machinery took out the same award in the non-food sector for their Wok 888 – Waterless Wok.

Commercial foodservice kitchen equipment supplier Comcater received the prize for Foodservice Distributor of the Year in the Non-Food sector, while Gaylene Westlake of PFD Food Services took out the honour of Foodservice Distributor Representative of the Year.

The other winners on the night were David White from Simplot and Wayne Dale from Cookers Bulk Oil, who received the Service Excellence Award in the food and non-food categories, respectively.

David Gregory from Comcater and John Burgess from Fonterra Brands were rewarded with the FIA President’s Award for their contribution to, and participation in, the foodservice industry over a number of years. They become the fourth and fifth entries into the Legends of the Foodservice Industry category, which was introduced at the inaugural Awards in 2006.