NFF launches 2010 Innovation in Agriculture Awards

Posted by Josette Dunn on 24th February 2010

From 22nd February the National Farmers’ Federation (NFF) is calling for nominations under its second annual national Innovation in Agriculture Awards, recognising and encouraging excellence in modern farming.


The NFF established the Awards in 2009 as part of its highly successful National Congress to celebrate the pioneering advances and outstanding contributions made by Australian farmers.

“Australians know the resilient nature of our farmers and value the quality of our farm fresh produce,” NFF President David Crombie said.

“They also appreciate the important economic and environmental contribution our farmers make. But it’s not always understood how cutting-edge Australian farming is in delivering these accomplishments day in, day out.

“Those advances generate new and diverse farm practises that drive gains in the efficiency and competitiveness across the sector. These benefits flow through to the broader community, enhancing Australia’s economic performance and environmental management.

“Australian farmers are adept at meeting new and emerging challenges. It’s only fitting we recognise those achievements. Our farmers are already preparing to meet the challenges of increasing populations – projected the reach 36 million in Australia and 9 billion globally – meaning demand for food and fibre like never before from increasingly limited resources.”

The NFF Innovation in Agriculture Awards are designed to facilitate existing state and commodity-based Award programs, elevating their winners to the national level, but also enabling farmers undertaking relevant innovation activities to nominate for recognition.

The Awards cover three categories:

* Sustainability;
* Value Adding; and
* New Technology.

The Awards are open to all farmers who are full financial members of NFF member organisations – be they state farm groups, commodity councils or Associate Members. Farmers may nominate themselves or be nominated by their state farm, commodity or Associate Member group.

The 2010 Innovation in Agriculture Awards Entry Guide – providing details and examples on each Award, the criteria for entry and guidance on application format, is available from the NFF’s National Congress website.

Nominations close Monday 31 May 2010.

The Awards will be announced and presented at the gala Dinner of the NFF 2010 National Congress at The Grand Hyatt in Melbourne on the evening of Monday 6 September 2010.