AIFST Keith Farrer Award winner announced

Posted by Nicole Eckersley on 5th August 2010

The prestigious Keith Farrer Award of Merit has been awarded to Stuart Andrews, Associate Professor at the University of South Australia (UniSA) by the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST).

The award, announced at the AIFST’s 43rd Annual Conference ‘Creating the future of food – body, mind, passion’ this week, is made for outstanding achievements in and contributions to food science and technology in the wide areas of research, industry and education, and recognizes contributions that further the aims and objectives of the Institute.

Dr Andrews’ contribution to the Australian food industry, food science community, academic community and the AIFST spans many decades, and crosses teaching, research and industry.

A Fellow of the AIFST since 1989, he has been a faculty member of the UniSA and its predecessor, the South Australian Institute of Technology (SAIT) since 1974 and teaches food microbiology in the various food science degree courses and other food related subjects offered there.

Andrews’ love of teaching and his enthusiasm has inspired many students to take on careers in food science. This enthusiasm extends to promoting food science studies to high school students. He is actively involved in peer education and has, through the Science Teachers Association conferences, assisted teachers to understand basic food microbiology and food chemistry, and to formulate practical classroom demonstrations to introduce a new generation to food science.