FSANZ gets fresh faces on Board

Posted by Daniel Palmer on 30th June 2009

The Parliamentary Secretary for Health, Mark Butler, last week announced four new appointments and three reappointments to the Board of Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ), the lead food regulatory body in Australia and New Zealand.Mr Butler said the appointments, made with the agreement of the Australia and New Zealand Food Regulation Ministerial Council, would ensure stability and a strong consumer voice in the development of food standards for Australia and New Zealand.

“Our rigorous food regulatory system provides assurance about the safety of foods sold in Australia and New Zealand, protects the health of the public, and ensures that consumers are informed,” he said.

Jenni Mack, Dr James Murray, Dr David Roberts and Associate Professor Winsome Parnell were the new appointments to the Board.

“Ms Jenni Mack’s extensive background in consumer affairs and policy will be an asset to the Board,” Mr Butler advised. Ms Mack represents consumers on several government and non-government boards, and chairs consumer group Choice.

Dr James Murray has expertise, both nationally and internationally, in diseases transferred from animals to humans, veterinary public health and on-farm food safety as well as his experience in the prevention, management and control of emerging infectious diseases, a statement from FSANZ said.

“Dr David Roberts has extensive experience in food policy and regulation,” the statement continued. “He has worked with both government and non-government organisations on food policy and regulatory matters, as well as food processing and standards setting. He is currently the Chair of the NSW Branch of the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology.”

Associate Professor Winsome Parnell has been appointed for a period of two years as a representative of the New Zealand Government. She is an Associate Professor at the Department of Human Nutrition, University of Otago, New Zealand, and is currently the Nutrition Director for the 2008/09 New Zealand Adult Nutrition Survey.

Professor Katrine Baghurst, Dr Michele Allan and Mr Peter Boyden were reappointed for four years.

“These reappointments reflect the valuable contribution and expertise each member has brought to food regulation over the past four years,” Mr Butler said. “They maintain the strong representation of public health, nutrition, and food science and technology issues on the Board.”

Mr Butler thanked retiring members Dr John Craven, Mr Peter Milne, Dr Pamela Williams and Ms Hikihiki Pihema for their contribution to the Board.

“Their achievements and service have been substantial and their expertise has helped ensure the Board’s effective and efficient operation,” he said.