2010 Keith Farrer Award of Merit winner announced

Posted by Janice Wong on 27th July 2010

This week Dr Stuart Andrews, Associate Professor at the University of South AustraliKeith Farrer Award Winner 2010a (UniSA) was announced as the winner of this year’s Keith Farrer Award of Merit, awarded by the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST).

Dr Andrews’ contribution to the Australian food industry, food science community, academic community and the AIFST is prolific and is well deserving of the award.

Some of his career highlights include:

  • During the 1980s he was instrumental to the development and presentation of food and factory hygiene training courses and videos
  • Developed awareness of food security, quality and nutrition in rural and remote areas of South Australia, especially in indigenous communities
  • A number of wine industry research projects were undertaken during Andrews’ early years at SAIT, particularly in the treatment of winery effluent
  • In 2007 Andrews became Chairman of the Biological Testing Accreditation Advisory Committee
  • Supervised research projects in conjunction with the Cooperative Research Centres for water quality
  • In 2009 Andrews was invited to work on a food testing project in the Mekong Delta for United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO), assisting microbiology laboratories in Vietnam to achieve ISO 17025 accreditation.

This award is made for outstanding achievements in and contributions to food science and technology in the wide areas of research, industry and education, and recognises contributions that further the aims and objectives of the Institute.