Winners of the 14th National Olive Oil Awards Show Announced

Posted by Josette Dunn on 22nd October 2010

Australian extra virgin olive oil producers gathered in Glenelg, Adelaide on Friday night for the results of the largest and most prestigious awards event in the industry’s calendar – the Australian Olive Association’s 14th National Extra Virgin Olive Oil Awards Show.

13 gold medals were awarded from over 200 entries, which were scrutinised in an intense two-day judging process by 26 olive oil experts, with Best Oil of Show going to Jos and Kathy Weemaes , Gooramadda Olives, North East Victoria

Jos and Kathy Weemaes from Gooramadda Olives said ‘When we entered our best oils into the Australian Olive Associations national competition this year, we were expecting to end up somewhere in the top section, as these oils have been bringing home gold and silver medals in this competition for 5 years now. Receiving the “Best Extra Virgin Olive Oil in Show” was beyond our expectation and of course pleases us very much.

Winning this highly regarded National Award twice, firstly in 2006 and again this year, gives us, and our customers, the confirmation that we produce a consistent, quality product.

“We also greatly appreciate the very professional manner in which the judging is carried out. Judges comments and feedback give us an insight into how we can continuously improve and fine-tune our processes. We hang out for their comments! It is like sitting a yearly exam and passing!!!’

The Chief Judge of the Show, Richard Gawel complemented the growers on the overall high standard of entries. “This was probably the most difficult growing season that I can recall. Scorching heat followed by rain just prior to harvest made it difficult for many growers harvest when they would have liked. Given these difficulties the best oils showed an outstanding level of olive fruit and freshness. Just lovely dynamic oils.”

The winners were announced at the industry’s annual awards dinner at the Stamford Grand, Glenelg, Adelaide as part of the Australian Olive Association’s National Olive Expo held on the 14 and 15 October.

14th National Extra Virgin Olive Oil Show 2010 major winners:

South Australia

Best of Class 1, Single Estate Grown (Min 200 L) Awarded to Dalia & Zvi Sela, Macaw Creek Olive Oil (Riverton, SA) for their Picual varietal.

Best of Class 4, Non Packaged (Min 200 L), Awarded to Richard Whiting, Coralee Olives (Coonalpyn SA) for their Picual varietal.


Best of Class 2, Multi Estate Grown, (200-4,999 L) Awarded to John & Claire O’Sullivan, Forth Valley Olive Grove (Devonport, TAS) for their Frantoio / Manzanilla / Verdale blend.


Best of Class 5, Micro Volume (50-199 L), Awarded to Jos & Kathy Weemaes, Gooramadda Olives (Gooramadda, VIC) for their UC13A6 / Hardy’s Mammoth blend.

Best of Class 3, Multi Estate Grown, (Greater than 5,000 L), Awarded to Cobram Estate for their Cobram Estate ‘Fresh & Fruity’.

New South Wales

Best of Class 6A, Flavoured Oils – Citrus (Min 50L), Awarded to Rilanda Czarnecki, Melilanda Olives (Moree, NSW) for their Lemon Infused

Western Australia

Best of Class 6B, Flavoured Oils Non-Citrus Flavours (Min 50 L), Awarded to Mick Ryan, Preston Valley Grove (Donnybrook, WA) for their Chilli infused.

Best of Show

Carol L’Heureux Award For Best Oil of Show Awarded to Jos & Kathy Weemaes, Gooramadda Olives for UC13A6 / Hardy’s Mammoth blend.