Seafood the big winner at SA Food Awards

Posted by Isobel Drake on 11th November 2009

Black lipped abalone and farmed Southern Bluefin Tuna from ‘Australia’s Seafood Frontier’, the Eyre Peninsula were the major winners at the recent Premier’s Food Awards in South Australia.

Dover Fisheries and Clean Seas Limited were dual winners scooping two awards each, highlighting that seafood from South Australian waters is world class.

“Abalone business Dover Fisheries, which won both the NAB Agribusiness Export Award as well as the new Food Adelaide Value Chain Award, are driving dollars into this State through well researched consumer and market understanding,” Premier Mike Rann said. “Differentiating their products specifically to these needs has allowed them to compete in highly competitive markets and come out on top with consumers.”

The Premier announced ten winners in total including the latest South Australian Hall of Fame inductee Michael Angelakis, of seafood empire Angelakis Brothers, at the 12th Annual South Australian Premier’s Food Awards presentation gala dinner.

“Michael Angelakis is a great induction into the Hall of Fame,” Mr Rann advised. “Michael is dedicated to seafood from South Australia and through his popular TV program ‘Out of the Blue’ his passion for all food sectors is evident. He exposes this State and produce to international audiences and is a South Australian icon.”

The Premier also recognised 35 year old Claude Cicchiello, Managing Director of La Casa Del Formaggio, as the KPMG Young Leader Award winner.

“Claude is working within the business community, providing leadership at the ground level for up and coming food businesses, and within his own business is leading the direction with a focus on new product development,” Mr Rann said.

“The Food Awards demonstrate that the food industry in South Australia is diverse, with brands and products making their way onto the plates of consumers throughout the world.”

“Our food industry contributed a record $12.4 billion in revenue to South Australia’s economy in 2008/09 – an increase of nine per cent over the previous year. In addition, a record 146,000 people were employed in food related jobs.”

The full list of winners:
South Australian Food Industry Hall of Fame (San Remo sponsored) – Michael Angelakis of Angelakis Brothers

KPMG Young Leader Award – Claude Cicchiello

Food and Beverage Development Fund Workforce Development Award – Robern Menz

Peats Soil and Garden Supplies Sustainability Award – Clean Seas Limited

NAB Agribusiness Export Award – Dover Fisheries

SARDI Innovation Award – Clean Seas Limited

Dept of Trade and Economic Development New Product Award – Pendleton Fine Foods

Rural Solutions SA Services to Industry Award – Singapore Airlines Cargo

Rabobank Value Adding Award – B.-d. Farm Paris Creek

Food Adelaide Vale Chain Award – Dover Fisheries