Australia’s top young chef, waiter, and restauranteur announced

Posted by Josette Dunn on 11th August 2010

Last night the Electrolux Appetite for Excellence 2010 national winners were announced at an exclusive reception held at the Electrolux Showcase, Sydney, attended by Australia’s leading chefs, restaurateurs and food industry luminaries.

The 2010 Electrolux Appetite for Excellence winners across three award categories are:

Electrolux Young Chef
Winner: Soren Lascelles, Assiette, Sydney, NSW
Runner Up: Danika Heslop, Quay, Sydney, NSW
Judges Acknowledgement: Emma Shearer, The Manse, Adelaide, SA

Electrolux Young Waiter
Winner: Louise Tamayo, Becasse, Sydney, NSW
Runner Up: Josh Smith, Black Cow Bistro, Launceston, TAS
Judges Acknowledgement: Aaron Christian, Georges on Waymouth, SA

Electrolux Young Restaurateurs
Winner: Kim Coronica, Richmond Hill Café & Larder, VIC
Winner: Thomas Moore, Grazing, Gundaroo, NSW

Brett Graham, ex-pat and multi-Michelin starred chef and owner of London’s The Ledbury, was the guest of honour joining Luke Mangan (Glass, The Palace, Salt Tokyo), Peter Gilmore (Quay), Justin and Georgia North (Becasse), Christine Manfield (Universal), Philip Johnson, Cath Claringbold, Dietmar Sawyer (Berowra Waters Inn/Ad Lib) and food commentator Lyndey Milan.

The winners receive a truly once-in-a-lifetime experience to expand their food and wine skills, learn from some of the world’s best chefs and be inspired by an amazing overseas trip.

Co-founded by Luke Mangan and Lucy Allon in 2005, Electrolux Appetite for Excellence is a national hospitality awards program dedicated to educating and nurturing emerging industry professionals.

Over the last few months, the 2010 winners have competed in a range of hospitality challenges to prove their culinary skills including mystery box cook offs, customer service tests, food and wine knowledge tests and one-on-one interviews, all under careful scrutiny from a judging panel comprised of Australia’s leading chefs and hospitality leaders including Christine Manfield, Guy Grossi, Philip Johnson, Lisa van Haandel, Luke Stringer and Tetsuya Wakuda.